Worried parent needing some advice

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Danielbell05
Keratoconus: No, I don't suffer from KC

Worried parent needing some advice

Postby Danielbell05 » Mon 15 Oct 2012 12:16 am

Hi I'm new to this , my 13 yr old son has just been diagnosed with KC and I'm scared , he suffers with really blurred vision , he was fine 12 months ago at his last eye examination and has never needed glasses , does it normally happen so quickly , he has been referred to get hard contacts , will these prevent anymore long term issues , will the eye condition get worse , would appreciate any info , thanks

Andrew MacLean
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Other

Re: Worried parent needing some advice

Postby Andrew MacLean » Mon 15 Oct 2012 6:21 am

Danielbell05

Welcome to the forum.

Keratoconus can progress very rapidly, and then it can stabilise and after a bit (sometimes lasting many years) it can progress again. There is no fixed pattern that the condition will follow in every case.

It is so usual that it is almost routine for the first response to keratoconus is for either glasses to be prescribed or contact lenses. I'm not going to give you a list of other treatments, therapies or management strategies that can follow, but it is important for you to remember that keratoconus can be managed; the overwhelming majority of people with KC never need more than the initial response of glasses or contact lenses.

Every good wish, and remember; don't panic! :D

Andrew
Andrew MacLean

Anne Klepacz
Committee
Committee
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Postby Anne Klepacz » Mon 15 Oct 2012 9:46 am

Daniel,