Got Keratoconus, What field do you work in??

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

drink
Regular contributor
Regular contributor
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

Got Keratoconus, What field do you work in??

Postby drink » Thu 27 Oct 2011 2:52 pm

Hey Peeps, I have keratoconus which is at a moderate stage, corrected with RGP lenses which does a pretty good job and brings my eyesight almost upto scratch.

I work in the mechanical engineering sector, working with my hands doing precision engineering working to tolerances of 0.1mm and below going into .000mm. Im doing this job with keratoconus and didnt let it get in my way. Il be having CXL or KXL (keraflex) hopefully in the next 6 or so months so i can carry on working there without any issues, after making a few arrangments with work.

Out of interest, what fields do most of you who have keratoconus work in? You can either answer in detail of your actual job role, or just the field will do.

ALSO, did any of you ever have problems with your work place due to keratoconus, or sacked or had to leave work due to keratoconus?

The more people that can answer the better, so please everyone who clicks onto this thread, dont be shy and join in 8) .

longhoc
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Re: Got Keratoconus, What field do you work in??

Postby longhoc » Thu 27 Oct 2011 5:35 pm

Hi there Ttuf

I work in structured investment finance products, usually on investment strategy, trading or risk management systems.