contact question

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

longmover
Contributor
Contributor
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

contact question

Postby longmover » Wed 20 Jul 2011 6:22 pm

I have been wearing hard contacts for six years now and have always used the 'push contact onto eye' method rather than the 'straight onto the cornea' way. Does the way you put the lens onto your eye effect the way that they work? Will the contact lens work better if placed straight onto the cornea than pushed onto from the side?

Been wondering this for some time :roll:

Anna Mason
Chatterbox
Chatterbox

Re: contact question

Postby Anna Mason » Wed 27 Jul 2011 3:25 pm

Not a clue but its a good question perhaps someone will answer you eventually :D

longmover
Contributor
Contributor

Postby longmover » Sun 31 Jul 2011 8:29 pm

can anybody shed any light on this?

longhoc
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Postby longhoc » Mon 01 Aug 2011 10:29 am

Hi there

I think we're all a bit stumped for an answer on this one ! It probably needs an optometrist to explain accurately how a lens "settles" on the surface of the eye. My guess -- based on nothing more than over two decades of lens wear -- is that there's no difference between the "plonk it directly on the front of the eye" and the (from what I can tell from your description) "place it on the periphery and let it find the right place itself" methods.