sclerals+protein deposits!

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

sarah.w
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

sclerals+protein deposits!

Postby sarah.w » Sat 05 Feb 2011 2:22 pm

Hi all
I hope everyone is well and happy new year!

I know this has probably been answered many times before but im just curious....
I have had my current set of sclerals for approx 4 years ish and i have recently noticed that the right one in particular keeps getting as large build up of protein deposits on it and my vision is gradually getting worse as the day goes on.
My eyes have recently been much more sensitive after having such a good run with them over the past year. I have been wearing sclerals now for about 7 years. Im not sure whether this is down to protein build up or because im working on the wards and my eyes are becoming dry and more tired as the day goes on. Im only working 25 hours a week at the most as i struggled so much with full time working.

I always clean my lenses with miraflow then regular saline (which i get through gallons of a the week....it costs a fortune!) Does anyone have any ideas as to what i could use? I have noticed from previous posts that people used a protein remover over night? Any suggestions would be welcolmed.
I am in need of a review of my lenses but for now i need something to tie me over. Im really hoping my eyes are not getting intolerable of sclerals as these are my only option to be able to see!

Thanks as always for your help
best wishes
sarah xx

Andrew MacLean
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Other

Re: sclerals+protein deposits!

Postby Andrew MacLean » Sat 05 Feb 2011 4:07 pm

sarah

I managed to avoid any protein build up on my sclerals by washing them thoroughly each time I took them out. I used undiluted AMO Total Care (the wetting and soaking fluid; it is gentler than the cleaning fluid).