Looking left and Right with RGP Lenses

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Alexander_O
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

Looking left and Right with RGP Lenses

Postby Alexander_O » Sun 28 Mar 2010 3:48 am

recently got fitted and the left lens, and apart from seeming a bit sluggish after blinking (i remember reading someone had a similar issue in a previous), they are doing magic with my vision! :D im finding it difficult to put them in as its my first time with any kind of lens, but ive only had mine for a week so im gonna keep at it! ....one thing im finding hard to get used to is looking left and right...its a very "unsettling feeling" when i attempt to look left/right without turning my head, but i was told this is the norm when wearing contacts? what are your experience with this?

Andrew MacLean
Vision: Other

Re: Looking left and Right with RGP Lenses

Postby Andrew MacLean » Sun 28 Mar 2010 8:06 am

:D I just got used to turning my head! Actually combining eye movement and head turning is not such a problem, and in time I got used to the sensation when eye movement alone was used.

All the best

Andrew
Andrew MacLean

Sweet
Committee
Committee
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Postby Sweet » Sun 28 Mar 2010 9:25 am

Hi there!

Yes this is a very common feeling! It is very worrying at first to move your eyes suddenly as you do feel as if the lenses are going to fall out!! It just takes some time to get used to the feeling of having a foreign object in your eye. It does get better so do keep practising!

Best of luck with it! Love Claire X x X
Sweet X x X

Loopy-Lou
Forum Stalwart
Forum Stalwart

Postby Loopy-Lou » Sun 28 Mar 2010 8:46 pm

harder with RGP's as well because looking left/right quickly the lens doesn't move completely in synch with the eye!

GarethB
Ambassador
Ambassador