Unrealistic time frame ??

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

optom
Regular contributor
Regular contributor
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: On the waiting list for a graft

Unrealistic time frame ??

Postby optom » Thu 21 May 2009 5:04 pm

Hi guys i am an optometry student in dublin . bit of background i have had KC since i was 12 bilateral with gross asymmetry at the start right eye much worse than the left. i wear a piggy back combination on my left eye with hardly any trouble and have vision of 6/7.5. i was due to have graft on the right eye i n January of this year but it was postponed due to some problem with the tissue. i am now scheduled to have my op on the 16th of june. i finish my college exams on the 29 of may and am due t o start my optometry placement on the 1st of july give or take a week( all willing i pass my exams )

my question is , is my time frame way too short , i have been reading some post op blogs from here and people seem to be off work for 5 weeks ??? is this normal ??

Loopy-Lou
Forum Stalwart
Forum Stalwart
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Re: Unrealistic time frame ??

Postby Loopy-Lou » Thu 21 May 2009 5:46 pm

Most people take 6 weeks off

Anne Klepacz
Committee
Committee

Postby Anne Klepacz » Thu 21 May 2009 8:14 pm

Welcome optom! People vary quite a lot in how much time they need. Some here have gone back after 2 wks, I took 3 wks off after each of my grafts, others have taken longer. The fact that you have good corrected vision in the other eye should help. And surely, given that it's an optometry placement, you'll have lots of sympathy and understanding if you do need longer!
All the best for 16th.
Anne

optom
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Postby optom » Thu 21 May 2009 8:54 pm