Career Prospects

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Tom Gardner
Contributor
Contributor

Career Prospects

Postby Tom Gardner » Mon 25 Apr 2005 10:39 am

I am currently a 17 yr old student with KC at the "rigid contact lens stage". I have reasonable sight out of both eyes. I am doing 3 A-Levels - Business, Economics and P.E with a view to go onto uni to study business. I have a career in Retail Management in mind and I was wondering whether KC will hold me back in any way? Any advice would be welcome as it is worrying me currently. Thanks.

xTomx :P

shoayb
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Postby shoayb » Mon 25 Apr 2005 12:33 pm

Hi Tom,
Not sure if i can advice you on what you ask.. but i most crtainly can relate to what your saying... i'm currently on my "Year-out" and am going back to uni in Sept to finish my degree... I'm in the Computing field hence sight is most important..
Just been diagneosed in the last 5 months with KC but only just RGP's... so still in early stages, and yes it is worrying to see if KC is going to affect our career....
I'm find coming on here and talking abuot my experiences help a great deal.. also take things slowly.. ask all the questions you have...! try being positive.. and in terms of the future, i think i'll tackle that as and when!

hope all works out for you...
"Snowflakes are one of Nature's most fragile things, but just look at what they can do when they stick together!"
"Tell me and i'll forget, show me, and i may not remember, involve me, and i'll understand!"

jayuk
Ambassador
Ambassador

Postby jayuk » Mon 25 Apr 2005 12:35 pm

Hi Tom

From the chosen career I would highly doubt your KC would have an impact. However this doesnt mean that you may have some day to day "bad eye good eye days"...