RGP Contact Lenses, Sometimes Blurry. Advice?

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

undertow
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

RGP Contact Lenses, Sometimes Blurry. Advice?

Postby undertow » Sat 15 Dec 2007 1:11 pm

I have recently been issued with RGP contacts to help with my KC. I have been wearing them for a few months now and I'd say that I have more or less got used to them but one thing still bugs me.

Sometimes when I put them in either one or the other will be really blurry, sometimes worse than if I had not put it in at all. I have tried just leaving the offending lens in to see if it will settle down or something but it never does. I have checked and they are sitting in the right place, they just seem to be really blurry. Sometimes it looks (from looking through them) like there is a large amount of tear trapped between the lens and the eye, but I thought that was supposed to happen? Sometimes squinting and moving the lens around will allow me to see "around" the blur, sometimes not.

The only solution seems to be to take the lens out and put it back in over and over until eventually I can get good vision through it. This is a bit of pain if I am at work!

Weirdly they never go blurry if they are OK after I put them in, the blurriness only seems to be introduced at the insertion stage. I have tried drying them before putting them in, wetting them with saline, leaving the conditioner on them, washing the conditioner off & I clean them diligently every night, but to no real effect.

Its not much a gripe, but still it bugs me, particularly at work.

Any tips?

thanks in advance!

Andrew MacLean
Vision: Other

Re: RGP Contact Lenses, Sometimes Blurry. Advice?

Postby Andrew MacLean » Sat 15 Dec 2007 2:00 pm

undertow