Falling below the driving standard

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

John W
Contributor
Contributor

Postby John W » Tue 07 Nov 2006 5:42 pm

Ok Im a bit worried

Im new to it, well new to these forums, but not to KC.

Im petrified of falling below the driving standard, so a question i really wanna know the answer to.

Has anyone fallen below the standard....had a graft or major treatment (not lenses) and come back within driving standard or.... is it once your past the legal limit, not even a graft is gunna mean you can drive again

John Smith
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Graft(s) and spectacles

Postby John Smith » Tue 07 Nov 2006 6:39 pm

Hello John,

Let me allay your concerns. I frequently fall below the driving standard, and then recover my vision. Actually, needing vision to drive (perhaps it's your job) is one of the deciding factors when a graft is offered.

Certainly, before my first graft there was no way I could drive - I'd voluntarily given up driving a couple of months pre-op. Once the graft had stabilised - about 9-12 months post-op, I was driving again.

Then various rejection episodes affected my vision (often for the worse, but occasionally for the better).

I'm currently in the postition of not being able to drive for the first few hours of the day, and not in darkness; so I need to plan any driving I need to do carefully.

I hope that once my other eye has recovered from it's graft that I'll be back driving again full-time.
John

GarethB
Ambassador
Ambassador
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Postby GarethB » Tue 07 Nov 2006 6:42 pm

John,

When I was first diagnosed it was not long after my driving test at which time I easily made the driving standard. Eye sight rapidly went down hill could not even see the eye chart. Had the grafts and within 12 months of the first graft back to driving.