Keratoconus and Pregnancy

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Lynne Greyvenstein
Contributor
Contributor

Keratoconus and Pregnancy

Postby Lynne Greyvenstein » Wed 12 Jul 2006 9:39 am

Has anybody discovered that Keratoconus has been affected by becoming pregnant. I have been wearing hard contact lenses for 12 years now and vision is reasonable, however since coming of contraceptive pill and becoming pregnant my condition has worsened and tolerance to hard and soft lenses has become difficult. I would like to hear from anyone who has experienced this too

Gareth2
Contributor
Contributor

Postby Gareth2 » Wed 12 Jul 2006 8:41 pm

first of all welcome lynne to the forum, well I am not sure about being pregnent affects KC but I do know that with any extra illness or pressure on my system it is my eyes that suffer first being weak from the KC.

mike scott
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Graft(s) and good vision

Postby mike scott » Wed 12 Jul 2006 9:39 pm

hi guys
welcome to the forum
i agree with gareth, dont know about pregnancy being a guy myself but what ever ailment i may have affects my lens tolerance before anything else.
probably the same sort of effect as when you got a bruise somewhere, you carry on knocking it for weeks, lol
mike
onwards and upwards

John Smith
Vision: Graft(s) and spectacles

Postby John Smith » Wed 12 Jul 2006 9:46 pm

Hello Lynne,

I am aware of others going through similar circumstances.

The theory is that it is something to do with the hormones... as that could be why KC often is first noticed during puberty.

Hopefully, you'll get a reply from a lady soon :lol:
John

GarethB
Ambassador
Ambassador
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Postby GarethB » Wed 12 Jul 2006 9:50 pm

Hi Lynne,