Dealing with anxiety and depression from KC

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Mal97
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

Dealing with anxiety and depression from KC

Postby Mal97 » Thu 07 Feb 2019 7:54 pm

Hi all, I'm a 21 yr old student, diagnosed officially around 3 years ago but only recently got really bad

How do you guys deal with the anger that comes with accepting your vision is no longer what it once was and unlikely to ever be again. My right eye was always worse than my right and after crosslinking in october on the right I have noticed ghosting so much more, really regret having the surgery as it seems to have done nothing for my eye apart from making it worse!

My left eye is now showing signs of KC progression and has made me upset as I always convinced my self that maybe my left eye would just stay short sighted and not develop KC but it seems to be progressing quite a lot and I'm scared to have crosslinking on it due to the problems I had with my right and get ghosting. Should I go ahead with crosslinking on the left or is it not worth it, I don't know whats worse ghosting or blurry vision.

Currently typing this with an eye patch over my right eye and anytime I'm about at night I hyperfocus on my eye sight and get angry when I see how much ghosting is present and constantly close and reopen my right eye. I'm just generally angry, afraid and upset. I'm final year at university and reading my laptop for hours at a time is proving difficult now.

I'm waiting on contact fittings but in 4-6 weeks, do these generally correct KC quite well? I'm just over thinking everything like imagining going travelling after uni and then losing my lens, what will I do then? My best scenario would be to get a cornea transplant but my optician waved it off when I brought it up.