Calling out to all Dry Eye sufferers

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

jay87
Regular contributor
Regular contributor
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

Calling out to all Dry Eye sufferers

Postby jay87 » Sat 09 Apr 2016 4:51 pm

Hi All,

I have been wearing GP lenses since 2011, and most of this time I worked in an office. Heating/Cooling, dry air, all the worst things for contact lens wearers!

I started with hypromellose standard eye drops, bought some lacrilube i'd heard of from this forum, yet still was having terrible lens wear time and comfort. Falling out lenses as there was no tear layer!

4 GP visits resulted in viscotears (the GP described it as what 'old ladies wear', and other thick, viscous atrocities that did nothing to help.

Then I changed optometrist. We discussed the dry eye issue, and came to the conclusion that GPs didnt know much, and even less about KC!

The CAUSE was that I was not producing a suitable tear layer, and it was evaporating quickly. The drops were just for the symptoms.

I was then given Hyabak nutritional supplement capsules, rich in omega 3, 6, and essential occular vitamins.

Within 1 month of taking 2 daily with breakfast my tear layer was noticeably thicker with a large decrease in rubbing and redness of eyes.

Hyabak also offer preservative free eye drops. Hyaluronic sodium in 30 single unit doses.

The drops are not on the NHS's computer so if your GP tells you computer says no, ask them to properly look!

They have changed my life.

Jake.
Jake 8)

Jjoe
Contributor
Contributor
Vision: I'm coping with no aids

Re: Calling out to all Dry Eye sufferers

Postby Jjoe » Sat 09 Apr 2016 6:42 pm

?Any chance you could go into further detail

jay87
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Postby jay87 » Sun 10 Apr 2016 11:53 am