Access to Work

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Stace234
Regular contributor
Regular contributor
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Spectacles

Access to Work

Postby Stace234 » Tue 23 Jun 2015 11:13 am

Hi,

Recently i have been seeking help due to more deterioration in vision. I am lucky to hold onto my driving licence.

I recently spoke to Action for Blind Bristol and they are fantastic. Highly recommend going to see them! They advised me to start talking to Access to Work...

I put in an application to Access to Work due to the fact I find night driving impossible and my job requires me to travel between to places of work at around 4:30-5:00. I leave work between 8-9pm. In the summer this is no problem, in winter this is a major challenge. Due to when classes start (I'm a gymnastics coach), I have a time when I am required to be at the workplace, therefore public transport is just not quick enough to travel between two locations. Access to Work have said they cannot proceed due to the fact I have a driving licence and therefore legal to drive.The women on the phone just could not understand why I am unable to drive at night at all.

After a frustrating conversation,I was told to get a letter from my GP (who also will have limited knowledge of KC), outlining why I cannot drive at night, although she effectively told me not to bother!

Has anyone else found themselves in a similar situation? I am unable to change start and finish times due to the nature of the work and when children are around. Public transport is costly and not quick enough to let me move from workplace to workplace. I dread when the clocks go back as I know I will not be safe to drive, although apparently I will still be ''legal''. I'm now not sure where to go next. I guess a lot of us just 'risk it'.

Thank you
Stacey x