What job do you do and how does keratoconus affect it?

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

CrippsCorner
Forum Stalwart
Forum Stalwart
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Contact lenses

What job do you do and how does keratoconus affect it?

Postby CrippsCorner » Fri 28 Feb 2014 2:59 pm

Hello just sitting in work thinking about this! I'm a radiotherapy technician, I look after several linear accelerators and provide quality assurance checks... the main problem I've come across is the measurement of penumbras. Sometimes the outline can look different from my left eye, my right eye, or both together!

Not good when I have to be within 0.5mm of perfection... still, I'm hoping RGP's will tackle this. Mostly I'm at a computer, but also reading tiny circuit diagrams, which can be a problem. Luckily I've heard rumors of being able to apply for iPad's which will mean I'll be able to zoom in greatly on what I'm looking at.

Thankfully I'm in a lovely office with lots of natural lighting! Looking forward to the summer because of that Image

longhoc
Vision: Graft(s) and contact lenses

Re: What job do you do and how does keratoconus affect it?

Postby longhoc » Fri 28 Feb 2014 4:51 pm

Hi Cripps

I work in finance and Keratoconus does make life difficult -- spreadsheets full of rows and rows of figures can be a nightmare ! And like you, accuracy is needed but tricky to maintain -- it's easy to misread just one figure and get hopelessly wrong as a result.