A Vision Test

Don't ask questions here; this is for posting closed FAQs with their answers only.

Moderators: John Smith, Sweet

linda36
Contributor
Contributor
Keratoconus: No, I don't suffer from KC

A Vision Test

Postby linda36 » Fri 26 Oct 2007 6:00 pm

I have just received a copy of my sons vision test at my local optician sent to his consultant. Can anyone explain what it means: left eye v = CF Sph = -100 Cyl = -4.50 Axis 80 VA 6/24
right eye v = 6/6 Sph = -050 VA 6/5
I am due at the hospital in two weeks to discuss INTACS Last time he had a topography and in one eye it was very dark red for most of the picture. I am very new to keratoconus and would like as much info as possible. My son is eleven.
Thank You

Karl R
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: I have Intacs implanted

Re: A Vision Test

Postby Karl R » Sat 27 Oct 2007 6:21 am

Linda can't explain the sph and axis, but there will be someone around who can.

The V/A, or visual acuity is the measure of how good, or bad the sight is. 6/24 means that a "normal" person would be able to see at 24 metres what your son can see at 6 metres. Whilst this is not brilliant it is by no means bad. Pre op my right V/A unaided was worse 6/60 and could only just get 6/36 with glasses.

For driving you need a V/A of 6/12 minimum, 6/6 is generally classed as "normal". With your son's right eye VA being 6/5 he will probably be using this eye to compensate for the left, and will probably get a sensation of the left eye being sleepy. What was the bilateral V/A?
There is only one difference between a madman and me. The madman thinks he is sane. I know I am mad. (Salvador Dali 1904-1989)

linda36
Contributor
Contributor

Postby linda36 » Sat 27 Oct 2007 7:59 am