Keratoconus Awareness

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Sophie Bull
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Keratoconus Awareness

Postby Sophie Bull » Wed 21 Apr 2004 2:32 pm

Hi,

Im pretty new to this forum, but was looking at a few of the older messages and noticed some stuff about a Keratoconus awareness day. I was wondering if anyone has had any more plans on this-I think its a really good idea.Feel as a student I have access to quite a large audience and a wider awareness of the condition would help.

Recently I have had a few problems with my eyes getting worse and one of them no longer wanted to tolerate the lens i was wearing. It has taken up quite a bit of my time, have struggled with my vision and my concentration. I went to explain the situation to my lecturers, all of which have been really understanding, but one of which suggested maybe it was something in the air?! and some website about drops that dissolve cateracts, she was trying to help,but this was after I had described the condition and shes got a PhD (ok I do study history so its not exactly a related area, but I would like to hope she has a pretty high level of intelligence!) I hate to think what ideas most people may come up with.

Just made me think that an awareness day may be a really good thing and think I could be helpful in doing some stuff to promote it.

Sophie

Mike Oliver
Contributor
Contributor

Keratoconus awareness

Postby Mike Oliver » Tue 27 Apr 2004 11:10 am