Finally making some progress with RPG lenses. Few questions!

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

steve2603
Keratoconus: Yes, I have KC
Vision: Other

Finally making some progress with RPG lenses. Few questions!

Postby steve2603 » Thu 22 Jun 2017 5:30 pm

Ok, so for some context, I've been battling keratoconus/RPGs/various other lenses for the past 2 years. I started with RPG, sight was incredible (like entering a new planet, as I always say), but I couldn't wear them for any great length of time. The maximum was maybe 2-3 hours. Despairing, I gave them up and tried piggybacking, soft-hard lens hybrids, none of which made things any better (the former only made the vision worse and changed comfort very little; the latter wasn't powerful enough in correcting the conrea).

So after months of frustration and defeatism, I wanted to try and go back to the RPGs. My first few adventures with them were identical to when I first started with them - couldn't wear for too long, or one lens was fine but the other wasn't etc. But for whatever reason - I don't know if it's because I'm finally buying the stupidly expensive Boston conditioner/cleaner - I've been able to wear them for 8+ hours this past 2 weeks. It's really been quite astonishing. Now I still get some ghosting, it's always there a little, but as far as reading books it's been almost perfect. People have no idea just how wonderful it feels to be able to read outside in the sun/or by the window.