Quicktopic posts: Oct 2001

General forum for the UK Keratoconus and self-help group members.

Click on the forum name, General Discussion Forum, above.

Moderators: Anne Klepacz, John Smith, Sweet

Sue Ingram

Postby Sue Ingram » Tue 02 Oct 2001 7:49 am

Hi Kim, I understand your problems totally; I had been wearing rgp (hard) corneal lenses for 25 years when my eyes decided they did not want to wear them anymore. I thought that was it, time for the graft, however, scleral lenses were suggested - have you heard of these? They look pretty horrendous as they cover your whole eye but as they filled with saline they do not touch the cornea. Once they are in the eye, noone would know you had them in. I am now able to juggle around with my lenses. I wear the sclerals for half the day and the rgp corneals for the other half - it seems that because I don't wear the rgps all day now, my eyes can tolerate them again - I do get better vision when wearing them. Hopefully, this has put a greater distance between me and a graft for a while. I attend Moorfields Eye Hospital - how about you? They have alot of expertise there in scleral lenses. I would definitely ask your practioner about them - it is worth going down all routes before making the decision to go for a graft. I also piggy-back some different scleral lenses with soft disposable lenses - the only reason for this is the comfort factor. These sclerals are closer to the eye and I cannot tolerate them for too long unless I wear the soft lenses underneath -I get better vision with these sclerals than my ordinary ones However, I can usually only do the piggy-backing for a couple of days at a time (also I am not sure how good it is for your eyes to be wearing two pairs of lenses!). So, it is a real juggling act but you get used to it and the longer I can keep away from the surgeon's knife, the better. Good luck with your investigations. Take care and if you want to have a chat, please email me on sue.ingram@virgin.net and I w